Turning Points

Day 9

Exercise – Do a creative search using turning points as a trigger. […] When you’ve finished and your page is full of possibilities, choose one of those turning points. Now write a piece in which you describe the turning point and how a character you have created reacts to it.

_________________________________________

When You Come to a Fork in the Road, Take It! (Yogi Berra)

– Dad, I am almost 30 years old, I am no longer happy in my marriage and my job doesn’t satisfy me.  I’ve applied to go to University and I have been accepted.  I am  taking this chance.

– That is a big leap, leave your job or your husband but not both at the same time!

– If I go to University, I have to leave the job as it is full time and in another part of the country.  M. has told me that if I go, our marriage is over. That doesn’t bode well for the future of our relationship, so I think there isn’t a choice there.

– But in that case it would be safer to continue working.

– I don’t want to do this kind of mindless job forever.  You and mum have always told me that I should go to University, so here’s my chance.

– What will that path lead to?  What are you going to do when you finish?

– I don’t know dad, but I do know that right now the unknown is more appealing to me than continuing as I am.

___________________________________

Some of hese ‘five minutes a day’ writing exercises need much longer than that!  The creation of lists or ideas before writing can take a lot of time.  I tried to stick as closely as possible to the five minute final writing piece (although I forgot what time I had started at exactly!) but did some editing after.

Share your thoughts

