If fate hands you a rattlesnake, make a handbag

Day 10

Exercise –  Think about the times in your life when life has handed you a lemon.  Write down as many as you can think of and then look at each item in a different light,  No matter how negative it seemed at the time, look for a positive aspect.

________________________________

I am going to take a slight detour from today’s brief.  The author gave several examples of situations that could fit into the ‘lemon’ category and I had to think hard to remember that I did have some of those in my life.

Why did I have to think hard?  From an early age I believed that something good would always come out of any bad situation and I tend to forget the tough situations pretty quickly.

When I finished high school, the education system was changed and another year was added to secondary schooling.  I was part of the first intake of students for this new year and our classes were given on public television!  I could not concentrate and did not complete the year.

Then I realized I wasn’t sure about what I wanted to study in University and didn’t think my parents could really afford to send me there.  So I decided to go abroad as an au-pair. That was a great experience that opened my views to other people and cultures and eventually led to me moving abroad permanently a couple of years later.

Share your thoughts

