Beautiful Words (2)

Day 30

The exercise – Pick one word from the British Council‘s top twenty and free write for five minutes.

______________________________

I have chosen the word sunflower.

Sunflowers always make me think of my sister as they are one of her favourite flowers.  A few years ago, when I was giddy with enthusiasm, learning to draw and paint, I offered to paint sunflowers for her home.

I painted a large canvas with 3 sunflowers and although I knew it was far from a masterpiece, I was pretty happy with the result, considering my basic skills. My sister may have just wanted to protect my feelings by saying she liked it.

These days when I am in her home, I cringe whenever I look at the painting.

Still, sunflowers are beautiful and bright, they remind me of summer and of my sister.

Share your thoughts

