I’ve never eaten Roquefort

Day 60

Writing prompt from Hourly Prompts: Roquefort

_____________________________

I remember clearly when I first came across Roquefort cheese.

I was nineteen and had just moved to France for one year.  I was living with a family who cooked lovely meals every day and I thoroughly enjoyed everything they put on the table.

One day at dinner, after the main course, the father went to the kitchen and brought back a beautiful brown ceramic pot.  He explained it contained gourmet cheese.  As he opened the pot he told me the cheese was called Roquefort and moved the pot towards me so that I could see and smell it.

The smell was so strong I almost fell backwards as I jerked my head away from it. I could not taste it and have never been able to eat Roquefort or any other blue cheese.

Share your thoughts

